You are the owner of this article.

Nominees announced for Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

  • 0
  • 2 min to read
Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards

The nominees have been announced for the annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards, which are set for Wednesday, July 24, at the Franklin Theatre.

“This is such an exciting event for Franklin Tomorrow and our community as dozens of nonprofit organizations are recognized as well as even more volunteers who are making our community such a special place to live,” said Allena Bell, board chair for Franklin Tomorrow.

Nominees and their nominators are:

Civic Group

A Penny & A Prayer, nominated by Habitat for Humanity Williamson-Maury County

Friends of Williamson County Animal Shelter, nominated by WCAS Director Ondrea Johnson

The Kiwanis Club of Historic Downtown Franklin, nominated by Mayor Ken Moore

Unite Williamson Angels, nominated by Mayor Ken Moore

Raise Your Hands, nominated by United Way of Williamson County

Old Glory Chapter of the DAR, nominated by Dolores Greenwald

Mike Gengler and the Men of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, nominated by Emily Layton of WAVES

Corporate Award

Buerger Moseley Carson PLC, nominated by Robert Blair

First Citizens National Bank, nominated by Sydney Ball

Youth Initiative Award

Zoe and Mia Hawkersmith, nominated by Dr. Jennifer Graham

Reed McKnight, nominated by Ondrea Johnson

Lily Hensiek, nominated by Robert Blair

Emerging Leader Award

Allie Arnette, nominated by United Way of Williamson County

David Kelly, nominated by Joy Lehmann of United Way of Williamson County

Michelle Koehly, nominated by Lisa Carson

Kindrick McLemore, nominated by Robert Blair

James French, nominated by Marie White

Chase Harper, nominated by Debbie Henry

Kellum Ferree, nominated by Brenda Hauk of Brightstone

Sydney Ball, nominated by Deb McFarlan Enright

Jared King, nominated by Emily Layton of WAVES.

Volunteer Spirit Award

Patrick Baggett, nominated by Patty Bearden of Franklin Noon Rotary

Anne Hook, nominated by Lindsay Ismailovic for Gentry’s Educational Foundation

Linda McLaughlin, nominated by Nan Zierden for Arts Council of Williamson County

David Kauppila, nominated by Rain Fisher for Habitat for Humanity Williamson-Maury

Keith and Brenda Squires Crow, nominated by Erin Saurers for Graceworks Ministries

Jackie Richards, nominated by Shannon Freeman for Fifty Forward

Mary Beth Gates, nominated by Dawn Blache for High Hopes Development Center

Julie Burns, nominated by Sunny Rosanbalm for Tucker’s House

Sean Hart, nominated by Debby Rainey of United Way of Williamson County

Mike Finucane, nominated by Ondrea Johnson of Williamson County Animal Center

Claudia Prange, nominated by Laura Alabed-Olsson for Gilda’s Club of Middle Tennessee

Joni Cole, nominated by Downtown Franklin Association and Mary Lee Bennett for Franklin Locals program

Carmen Stanek, nominated by Sydney Ball for A Vintage Affair, Cards of Care and Young Leaders Council

Judy Hollis, nominated by Emily Layton of WAVES

Dana Hardy, nominated by Mark McCutcheon of The Westhaven Foundation

Anne Logan, nominated by Ondrea Johnson of Williamson County Animal Center

Jennifer Morrison, nominated by Laura Lavery for The NOOK

Shawn Aswad, nominated by Ondrea Johnson for Snooty Giggles Dog Rescue

Mary Lee Bennett, nominated by Torianne Valdez for Musicians on Call

Sonya Johnson, nominated by Alma McLemore for African American Young Leaders Network

Bryan Doleshel, nominated by Renee Shafer for The Refuge Center and Downtown Franklin Association

Margaret Strelecki, nominated by Alisha Erickson for The PATH Project

Emily Magid, nominated by Brenda Hauk of Brightstone and numerous other organizations

David Critchlow, nominated for his service to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Franklin Tomorrow will award the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to someone from the list of nominees. Also, the Charles M. Sargent Jr. Legacy Award will be presented.

For those who would like to attend, tickets are available for purchase through the Franklin Theatre for $25 per person. The event usually sells out, so consider purchasing tickets immediately online at and then look for the Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards link.

Franklin Tomorrow’s Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards are made possible through a host of partners, including Jackson National Life Insurance Company, which underwrites the use of the Franklin Theatre. Other partners include Franklin Lions Club, F&M Bank, Buerger Moseley Carson PLC, First Advantage Bank, Franklin Noon Rotary, PARKS Real Estate and Williamson Memorial Funeral Home & Gardens. Additional support comes from The TMA Group, County Mayor Rogers Anderson, Ryan Search & Consulting, Ernie & Nell Bacon, Sen. Jack Johnson, District Attorney General Kim Helper and Rep. Glen Casada.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.