> sign up for Herald e-news

County resident Seab Tuck elected Leadership Middle TN chairman

Seab Tuck, of Williamson County and partner with Tuck Hinton Architects, has been elected Chairman of the Board of Directors for Leadership Middle Tennessee (LMT) announces Susan Taylor (Rutherford County), executive director of the organization. Tuck is only the third person to chair this regional leadership institute encompassing a 10-county area in Middle Tennessee.

Executive board members elected are Deborah Varallo, Chairwoman-Elect, president of Varallo Public Relations; Dr. Paul Stumb (Wilson County) Secretary, Dean of School of Business, Cumberland University; Gina Scott (Sumner County), Treasurer, Pinnacle Financial Partners. Jack B. Turner (Montgomery County) is the immediate past chairman. Ex-Officio board members are Dr. Jim Burton (Rutherford County), Dean of Jennings A. Jones College of Business, Middle Tennessee State University and Ralph Schulz (Davidson County), President/CEO of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce.

Additional board members: Mercedes Jones (Davidson County), Alumni President, Legacy Project Resources; Kadi Jones (Maury County), Communications Chair, Cassidy Turley; Doug Brandon, (Davidson County) Development Chair, Cassidy Turley; Brenda Payne (Sumner County), Governance, Hendersonville Chamber of Commerce; Paul C. Ney (Davidson County), Program Chair, Waddey & Patterson; Bill Sites, Sr. (Montgomery County), Finance Chair, Ward-Potts Jewelers; and Christine Bradley (Davidson County), Selections Chair, Vanderbilt University.

County board members elected to the Leadership Middle Tennessee Board are:

CHEATHAM COUNTY: James Fenton, City of Gallatin, Marion Fowlkes, Centric Architecture, Brenda Montgomery, Darwin Newton and Gary Scott, Pinnacle Financial Partners;

DAVIDSON COUNTY: Cristina Allen, Christine Bradley, Vanderbilt University, Doug Brandon (previously listed), Charles Bryan, Bryan Financial Services, Inc., Mercedes Jones (previously listed), Zachary Liff, National Building Corporation, Paul Ney (previously listed), Phyllis Qualls-Brooks, Tennessee Economic Council on Women, Floyd Shechter, SmartSpace, Inc. and Connie Valentine, Arts & Business Council of Greater Nashville.

DICKSON: Scott England, England Properties;

MAURY: Harvey Church, First Farmers and Merchants Bank and Kadi Jones (previously listed);

MONTGOMERY: Jill Ayers, Batson, Nolan, Pearson, Miller & Joiner, Jeffrey Bibb, BLF Marketing and Bill Sites (previously listed);

ROBERTSON COUNTY: Ann Schneider, The Farmers Bank;

RUTHERFORD COUNTY: Dr. Jim Burton (previously listed) and Gerald Coggin, National Healthcare Corporation, Patty James, Bridgestone Americas Holdings, Inc. and Shane Reeves, Reeves-Sain;

SUMNER COUNTY: Brenda Payne (previously listed) and Gina Scott (previously listed);

WILLIAMSON COUNTY: Jacky Akbari, Nashville Career Advancement Center and Jeffrey Jowdy, Lighthouse Counsel;

WILSON COUNTY: G.C. Hixson, Joint Economic & Community Development Wilson County.

Leadership Middle Tennessee was formed in 1999 as an initiative of Partnership 2000 to contribute to future planned and sustainable economic and community growth and development in the fast-growing 10-county area through the participation of community leaders in an annual regional leadership program.  At its founding, the late Marvin Runyon, LMT chairman of the board, said, "The regional leadership institute was founded to help community leaders develop a unity of purpose and meet regional challenges with regional vision." Runyon was the former president of Nissan Motor Manufacturing, U.S.A., TVA chairman and U.S. Postmaster General.

Leadership members are selected from 10-county area which includes Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson and Wilson counties. Class members participate in ten one-and-a-half-day sessions focusing on a variety of regional issues and information presentations while visiting each of the member counties.

Leadership Middle Tennessee is overseen by a regional board that is comprised of the Leadership Middle Tennessee alums and business and community leaders. Leadership Middle Tennessee operates through the Jennings A. Jones College of Business at MTSU. Susan Turner Taylor is executive director.  For more information visit,




Posted on: 11/21/2012


WILLIAMSON HERALD :: 1117 Columbia Avenue :: P.O. Box 681359 :: Franklin, TN 37068
615.790.6465, phone :: 615.790.7551, fax ::

Copyright 2006, All rights reserved. ::
Privacy Policy ::
Advertise ::