> sign up for Herald e-news

Moody, Ferrell among honorees at Shrimp Boil, Volunteer Awards

Franklin Tomorrow will hold its seventh annual Shrimp Boil and Volunteer Awards program on Saturday, July 13, at Berry Farms subdivision and two well-known community servants who died within the last year will be honored posthumously.

The event will begin at 5:30 p.m. at the Hughes Mill Commons Area on Poplar Avenue off Lewisburg Pike. Tickets are $50 per person, with children 12 and under $25. Tickets may be purchased online at or by calling 615-794-0998.

Dr. Craig Ferrell

Dr. Craig Ferrell, nominated by BrightStone, and Ed Moody, nominated by the Franklin Noon Rotary Club, will both be honored with the Ned Lea Lifetime Achievement Award for their numerous contributions to our community.

“Both of these men left such a legacy of service to our community before their deaths in the last year,” said Kathie Moore, president of Franklin Tomorrow. “Through the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award and others which will be announced that night, we honor those who continue to serve our community today, but by honoring Dr. Ferrell and Mr. Moody, we are able to honor those who set a standard for us to emulate.”

Ferrell, a founder of Franklin’s Bone & Joint Clinic, was “bigger than life itself,” according to Brenda Hauk, BrightStone executive director, who nominated Ferrell for his tireless work for the organization which serves adults with special needs.

“Dr. Ferrell guided BrightStone as a Board member, Board chairman, and chairman of our Songwriters Night Benefit,” Hauk said, “but his love for BrightStone’s students and his dedication to our mission ran far deeper than these titles can portray. He loved our adults with special needs; he respected them as individuals, he recognized their abilities, and he desired a better life for them.”

Ed Moody

Moody, who founded Moody’s Tire & Recappers, was also a founder of the Franklin Noon Rotary Rodeo, which has given more than $1 million to the community since it was first held more than 60 years ago.

“The Rotary motto is “Service above Self” and there is not another Rotarian who always
put service, community and others first more than Mr. Ed Moody,” said Franklin Noon Rotary President Derby Jones.  “Ed Moody was ‘Service above Self.’”

“We lost Ed Moody on January 23, 2013, at the age of 92. For generations, Ed Moody has been a household name in Franklin. He has left his footprint in the lives and on the hearts of all who knew him and even those who didn’t know him,” Jones said.

Sponsors for this year’s Shrimp Boil are Pinnacle Financial Partners, Williamson Medical Center, Boyle Investment, Century Construction, Vanderbilt Health, Tim & Angie Murphy, FirstBank, Buerger, Moseley & Carson, Kathie Moore, State Rep. Charles Sargent, State Sen. Jack Johnson, State Rep. Glen Casada, County Commissioner Brian Beathard & wife Lisa, Middle Tennessee Electric, Gary Minor, Regent Homes, and Gregg & Raines.

Guests will gather at 5:30 p.m. for a social time before a low-country shrimp boil, prepared by Cool Café, is served at 6:15 p.m. A program honoring all those nominated for the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award, the Volunteer Spirit Awards, and the Youth Initiative Awards will be held following the dinner. Each finalist for these awards will be recognized and the winner or winners in each category announced.

Through the generosity of its sponsors, Franklin Tomorrow is able to make a cash contribution to the nonprofit of the award recipient’s choice.

Franklin Tomorrow is a 12-year-old community visioning nonprofit which seeks to engage the community, foster collaboration, and advocate for a shared vision for the future of Franklin. Learn more at

Posted on: 6/28/2013


WILLIAMSON HERALD :: 1117 Columbia Avenue :: P.O. Box 681359 :: Franklin, TN 37068
615.790.6465, phone :: 615.790.7551, fax ::

Copyright 2006, All rights reserved. ::
Privacy Policy ::
Advertise ::