> sign up for Herald e-news

TMA Group celebrates 25 years

County Mayor Rogers Anderson and Franklin Mayor Ken Moore

Transportation Management Association Executive Director Debbie Henry, Dianne Thorn, former Executive Director, and Diane Davidson, TMA founding director, celebrate the organization's 25th anniversary.
Transporting people where they need to go in asafe, economical and environmentally friendly way has been the lifeblood of The TMA Group’s mission for 25 years.

To celebrate that milestone, more than 200 people gathered at the organization’s Franklin Transit Authority office on Columbia Ave. last week.

It was a reunion of people, whose ideas, passions and commitments to serving the public have garnered tangible results.
It all began in the mid-1980s when a young community planner in Brentwood floated the idea of a vanpool system to connect potential employees with employers in need of personnel.

The organization (then called the Brentwood Area Transportation Management Association) has made a marked difference in the quality of life for thousands of people, according to TMA Group Board Chairman Julian Bibb.

He culminated his remarks last Thursday night with a quote from President Robert F. Kennedy.

“The purpose of life is to contribute in some way to making things better.”

Bibb spent the better part of his speech noting the contributions made by folks from a vast arena of talent, including programming, government relations, operations, drivers, vanpool commuters, board leadership, business leadership, community leadership and policy development professionals.

“This organization would not exist without the support of our stakeholders—The Federal Transit Administration, Tennessee Department of Transportation, Nashville Area Municipal Planning Organization, the Regional Transit Authority, Williamson County Government and the City of Franklin,” Bibb said.

Individual appreciation was given to the following people who are currently leading this public/private organization, Rogers Anderson, Julie Miller, Kelly Dannenfelser, David Burt, Ed Cagle, Brad Dunn, Pat Emery, Bill Lockwood, Mayor Dr. Ken Moore, Bob Murphy, Dave Pelton, Jeremiah Pyron, Mark Robbins, Mort Stein and Cyril Stewart.

The organization’s founding planner and executive director Diane Davidson traveled from Knoxville, where she currently works on national transportation research for the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Three directors have held the post since Davidson first established BATMA, now The TMA Group.
Bibb recognized all three directors—Davidson, former executive director Dianne Thorn and current executive director Debbie Henry.

Posted on: 9/11/2013


WILLIAMSON HERALD :: 1117 Columbia Avenue :: P.O. Box 681359 :: Franklin, TN 37068
615.790.6465, phone :: 615.790.7551, fax ::

Copyright 2006, All rights reserved. ::
Privacy Policy ::
Advertise ::