> sign up for Herald e-news
Schumpert repeats as 11-AAA MVP; Franklin's Patton takes girls honor

Brentwood’s Andy Schumpert was named District 11-AAA Most Valuable Player in basketball for the second year in a row. Becky Williams
Franklin’s Anna Patton was named Girl’s District 11-AAA Most Valuable Player in basketball. Becky Williams

Dennis King of Brentwood was named Boys Basketball Boys Coach of the Year. Joe Williams
Brentwood’s Ronnie Seigenthaler was named Girls Co-Coach of the Year. Becky Williams
Franklin’s Kari Goodwin was named Co-Coach of the Year.Becky Williams
Brentwood senior Andy Schumpert has been named the District 11-AAA Most Valuable Player in basketball, repeating last year’s honor. Anna Patton of Franklin led the girls All District team by taking the same honor.
Schumpert joins an elite few who have won the award multiple times. The senior, who will sign a national letter of intent to play football at Furman tomorrow, averages 14.8 points per game on a team that has suffered only two losses the entire year.  The two sport standout has been as important on the boards and defensively as he has offensively all season.
Teammates Jacob Adcock and Jalen Lawson also got nods for the squad. Adcock has spent the season flying around the floor with a nose for the basketball, averaging 10.7 ppg and Lawson has provided great ball handling skills and added offensive firepower when necessary.
Ravenwood placed two on the list in district leading scorer Matthew Hailey and Nick Gleason. Hailey is capable of both driving to the basket and hitting long three-pointers, as evidenced by his 16.8 ppg average. Gleason has been a jack-of-all-trades in the backcourt, delivering assists and defensive pressure while averaging 9.4 ppg.  
Garrison Mathews and Joe Critchlow, both of Franklin, were also named. 
 Mathews, coming off a collar bone injury suffered during the football season, has been the glue for the resurgent Rebels who take a third seed into this week’s district tournament.  His 14.7 ppg average leads the team while Critchlow has been steady all year long, averaging 10.7 points a contest.
Independence freshman Grayson Murphy also made the list, the first first-year player in recent memory to earn a spot on the team. Murphy can be explosive offensively and is currently averaging 13.4 points per game. Deion Sims, who signed with Tusculum University last week to play football, was also tabbed.  
Tyrel Dodson (Centennial), scoring at a 9.3 ppg clip and DaMonte Williams (Summit) with a 12.0 average completed the team.
Bruin coach Dennis King was named Coach of the Year after leading Brentwood to another district title. The Bruins (25-2, 11-1 District 11-AAA) have only suffered losses to arch rival Ravenwood and private power CPA.
On the girls’ side, Patton, whose Lady Rebels exceeded most expectations other than their own, was honored for her overall play, including a 10.9 point per game average.  She was joined on the team by senior Rachael Hawn who has come alive offensively in the last four weeks while providing defensive muscle under the boards.
District champion Brentwood placed a near unprecedented five players on the list, including Jenny Roy. The senior, as adept on the volleyball court as the basketball floor, has scored in double figures in every game this season, averaging a district leading 15.3 ppg.  Marissa Anthony, a spark plug on the floor, Jessi Boozer, Hannah Catherine Lackey, and Olivia Shealy all were named to the all-district team.  
District newcomer Summit had a pair make the squad. Teondra Crawford, whose speed and quick hands have made her a constant threat on both ends of the floor, and Zacharyia Esmon were both named.  
Jordan Johnson, Centennial’s leader on the floor and off, was also named to the team.   Lea Lela Carter, Payton Grove and Emily Beard, all from Dickson County, rounded out the team.
First year head coach Kari Goodwin, of Franklin, shared the Coach of the Year honors with veteran mentor Ronnie Seigenthaler. Goodwin has reignited the Lady Rebel’s program, leading the team to a second place finish in the district. Seigenthaler not only wrapped another winning regular season with yet one more district championship but also won the 500th game of his coaching career in the middle of the season.

Posted on: 2/13/2014


WILLIAMSON HERALD :: 1117 Columbia Avenue :: P.O. Box 681359 :: Franklin, TN 37068
615.790.6465, phone :: 615.790.7551, fax ::

Copyright 2006, All rights reserved. ::
Privacy Policy ::
Advertise ::