County commission redistributes committee members, honors public servants

  • 0
  • 2 min to read
Tommy Little and Steve Smith

Tommy Little, left, and Steve Smith were reappointed as chairman and vice chairman of the Williamson County Commission, respectively. 

Williamson County Mayor Rogers Anderson unconventionally commenced the Williamson County Commission meeting Monday, as September begins the 2019–2020 fiscal year and spurs the reappointment of the chairman and redistribution of commissioners among rotating committees. 

However, seated in the Williamson County Administrative Complex, the commission didn’t miss a beat in reappointing Tommy Little, District 5, as chairman and Steve Smith, District 12, as vice chairman. 

The rotating committee members are as follows: 

Steering Committee 

Dwight Jones, District 1 

Keith Hudson, District 3 

Tommy Little, District 5 

Bert Chalfant, District 7 

Chas Morton, District 9 

Dana Ausbrooks, District 12 

Rules Committee 

Judy Herbert, District 2 

Jennifer Mason, District 3 

Erin Nations, District 6 

Jerry Rainey, District 8 

Matt Williams, District 9 

Brian Beathard, District 11 

Human Resources Committee 

Ricky Jones, District 1 

Chad Story, District 4 

Beth Lothers, District 5 

Barb Sturgeon, District 8 

Robbie Beal, District 10 

Steve Smith, District 12 

Parks and Recreation Committee 

Betsy Hester, District 2 

Gregg Lawrence, District 4 

Paul Webb, District 6 

Tom Tunnicliffe, District 7 

David Landrum, District 10 

Sean Aiello, District 11 

The commission then heard from Tennessee Fire Service Program Director Jeff Elliott, who recognized the Arrington Fire and Rescue Department, Nolensville Volunteer Fire Department, Williamson Fire/Rescue and Williamson County Rescue Squad. 

“Each year, as the Tennessee Fire and Codes Academy closes out our year, we recognize departments that exceeded 1,000 or more student contact hours,” he said, explaining that about 10% of the fire departments in the state met this quota. “Tonight, Williamson County is being recognized for having 8,336 contact hours represented among these four departments.” 

Traci Hamby, the senior and therapeutic superintendent of the Parks and Recreation Department, was also presented with the Darrell Waltrip Automotive Hometown Heroes award and a $500 check towards Camp Will, which is a summer camp for kids with intellectual disabilities, of which she is the director. 

Getting down to business, the commission passed resolutions to honor the late Lance Corporal Marvin “Mark” Perkins for his military service and the late Charles Sargent Jr. for his public service by naming a bridge after both of them. The Marvin H. (Mark) Perkins Bridge stands on Henpeck Lane, and the Honorable Charles M. Sargent, Jr. Memorial Bridge will be part of the Mack Hatcher northwest extension, currently under construction. 

“Representative [Sam] Whitson came to us along with Brandy Blanton with the city with the idea of naming the bridge along the Mack Hatcher extension … after Charles Sargent,” said Commissioner Chas Morton, District 9. “He was instrumental in so many things, and one of his last acts was helping us get Mack Hatcher passed, and we thought this would be a great way to honor him.” 

The commission also approved the remaining funding — $22,300,000 — for the middle school being built near Oak View Elementary, which is scheduled to open in the fall of 2020, and just over $650,000 more for four additional Early Childhood classrooms, two at Scales Elementary, one at Johnson Elementary and one at Pearre Creek Elementary. 

Additionally, the speed limit along Meeks Road between Peytonsville-Trinity Road and Arno Road will be lowered from 35 to 30 miles per hour in anticipation of a new subdivision on the road. 

The county commission is scheduled to meet again on Monday, Oct. 14 at 7 p.m. at the Williamson County Administrative Complex.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.