You have permission to edit this article.

Early voting begins next week for August election

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 1 min to read
Vote Here

Registered Williamson County voters can begin voting in the state and federal primaries and county general election as early as July 17.


While registration for the August election closed on Tuesday, early voting for the state and federal primary and county general election begins on July 17 and will end on Aug. 1, with Election Day set for Aug. 6.

Primary elections will be held for U.S. Senate candidates to replace Sen. Lamar Alexander, U.S. House of Representative candidates for Congressional District 7 and Tennessee House of Representative candidates for Districts 61, 63 and 65 in Williamson County.

Tennessee holds semi-open primaries, which require voters to claim a political party at the polls and select one candidate for each office within that party. Once a candidate for each party is chosen, voters will choose from the narrowed list of candidates in the Nov. 3 general election.

For the U.S. Senate, 15 candidates will appear on the Republican ballot, and five candidates will appear on the Democratic ballot on Aug. 6. However, for the other state and federal offices, only one name will appear on the ballot for each party alongside a write-in option. While two independent candidates are running for Congress and one for state House District 63, these names will appear only in the general election in November.

While state and federal candidates will not be officially elected until November, county candidates will be elected on Aug. 6. This includes the circuit court judge for the 21st Judicial District, Williamson County sheriff, assessor of property, Williamson County School District Board of Education seats for odd-numbered districts and three seats on the Franklin Special School District Board of Education.

Single candidates are running unopposed for all county offices except for WCS school board in Districts 3 and 5. Two candidates, incumbent Eliot Mitchell and challenger Jennifer Moss, are vying for the District 3 seat while three candidates, Jennifer Aprea, Margie Johnson and Brian Snyder, are competing to replace Gary Anderson, who is retiring at the end of his current term.

For more information about the upcoming election, including sample ballots, visit

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.