You have permission to edit this article.

Early voting concludes with more than 22K ballots cast

  • 0
  • 1 min to read
Franklin Early Voting (copy)

Early voting for the Aug. 6, 2020 election ended Aug. 1.

The Williamson County Election Commission is reminding voters that Election Day for the upcoming federal and state primary and county general election is on Thursday, Aug. 6, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at any of the 25 Election Day Convenient Vote Center locations in the county. 

Any registered voter may cast a ballot at any location, regardless of where they actually reside in the county. For a list of the locations, visit

Early voting ended on Saturday, Aug. 1 with a cumulative total of 22,616 ballots cast, or 13.4% of the registered voters, which includes nearly 4,000 ballots cast by mail. The deadline to request an absentee ballot was Thursday, July 31.  

“Early voting went really well in regards to our COVID-19 safeguards in the polling place,” said Chad Gray, Williamson County administrator of elections. “Our goal has been to continue to practice social distancing within the voting area and to use various methods to allow the voter and the poll official to interact with limited contact.”

Voters will choose Republican and Democratic nominees for U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives (7th Congressional District) and Tennessee House of Representatives (Districts 61, 63 and 65) to appear on the Nov. 3, 2020, state general election ballot. The county general election will include circuit court judge, 21st Judicial District, Division V (unexpired term); assessor of property; sheriff (unexpired term); county board of education (odd numbered seats) and Franklin Special School District Board of Education. Residents in the city of Fairview will elect a municipal court judge and municipal court clerk, and the town of Nolensville will consider a municipal referendum to change the town charter.

Voters may cast ballots at any one of the 25 Election Day Convenient Vote Center locations from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 6, regardless of where they reside inside the county. The Election Commission began the transition to Election Day Convenient Vote Centers in the latter part of 2019 after approval of the pilot project by the Tennessee General Assembly. Nearby Rutherford County was the first in the state to pilot the project in 2018 with great success.

The deadline to register to vote for this election was Tuesday, July 7. For more information, visit, download the GoVoteTN voter app or call the Election Commission office at (615) 790-5711.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.