You have permission to edit this article.

FSSD announces teachers of the year

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 1 min to read

The Franklin Special School District announced its teachers of the year Thursday with a video slideshow, and several schools took to social media to express their gratitude for their educators.

"Congratulations to Mrs. Mandy Wiemers," a Moore Elementary administrator wrote on social media. "She is an outstanding reading coach and building level technology specialist who works tirelessly to support the teachers and students at MES. It is a well deserved honor!"

Freedom Middle's team dubbed its teacher of the year, Priscilla Conerly, an "ELA rockstar" and "overall blessing."

One teacher was chosen for each of the district's eight schools. The honorees are listed below.

Franklin Elementary: Patrick Bourn, music teacher

Freedom Intermediate: Michael Stanley, music teacher

Freedom Middle: Priscilla Conerly, English/language arts teacher

Johnson Elementary: Drew Wilkerson, first grade teacher

Liberty Elementary: Katie Giles, first grade teacher

Moore Elementary: Mandy Wiemers, reading coach

Poplar Grove Elementary: Mallory Hamby, art teacher

Poplar Grove Middle: Laura Boyd, Spanish teacher

For more information about the Franklin Special School District, visit

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.