You have permission to edit this article.

Early voting under way in Franklin

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 2 min to read
Vote Here early voting sign

An early voting sign in Williamson County.

Early voting for the Franklin municipal election kicked off Wednesday morning.

Voters are tasked with filling four ward and one at-large seats on the nine-person board of mayor and aldermen. Winners will serve four-year terms.

Aldermen have staggered four-year terms with elections every two years, and usually, ward aldermen elections are held one year with mayor and at-large aldermen on the ballot two years later. However, a special election is being held this year for the at-large seat left open after the death of Alderman Pearl Bransford in November. John Schroer has filled in on an interim basis since January but is not running for the seat.

Ward 1’s Beverly Burger is the only incumbent running for re-election, and she’s also the only unopposed candidate. Ward 2’s candidates are Matt Brown, Angela Hubbard, Tina Pierret and Mike Vaughn; Ward 3 is pitting Jason Potts against Michelle Sutton; and Ward 4’s race is between Patrick Baggett and Elizabeth Downing Wanczak. The four at-large candidates are John E. Haynes, Gabrielle Hanson, Bhavani Kumar Muvvala and Alan Simms. 

Early voting will be held through Oct. 21 at the Williamson County Election Commission Office, located at 1320 W. Main St., Suite 140, in Franklin. Hours will be 8 a.m.-6 p.m. on weekdays and 8 a.m.-noon on Saturdays. 

Election Day is Oct. 26. Any voter eligible may cast a ballot at any designated convenience vote center location between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Convenience vote center locations include the Cool Springs Conference Center at 700 Cool Springs Blvd., Hunters Bend Elementary at 2121 Fieldstone Parkway, Pearre Creek Elementary School at 1811 Townsend Blvd., First Presbyterian Church at 101 Legends Club Lane, Williamson County Enrichment Center at 110 Everbright Ave., The Church of the City at 828 Murfreesboro Road, Franklin Christian Church at 4040 Murfreesboro Road and Legacy Middle School at 2380 Henpeck Lane. 

To find out what ward you’re in or for more voting information, visit the Franklin city website

For more on each candidate, click on their candidate profiles below.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.