You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Williamson County votes red across the board in November election

State House leadership to remain unchanged, municipalities welcome newcomers

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 3 min to read
Policy Talks (copy)

Williamson County voters favored the three Republican incumbents in the Tennessee House of Representatives during the Nov. 3 election, leading to victories for Glen Casada of District 63, Sam Whitson of District 65 and Brandon Ogles of District 61. The three legislators are pictured, left to right, to the right of state Sen. Jack Johnson.

Republicans swept Williamson County in the November election, including the three Williamson County incumbents in the Tennessee House of Representatives.

Williamson County cast 140,184 total votes, including about 12,000 by mail, representing over 84% of the county’s nearly 166,000 active voters. While these numbers may seem like a drop in the bucket to Tennessee’s over 3 million ballots, they represent a new county record for number of votes, voter turnout and mail-in ballots.

The previous record for mail-in ballots in the county was about 2,700, so it’s no surprise that the by-mail votes were not reported until after 4 a.m. on Nov. 4, but in spite of the unofficial numbers, Tennessee’s choice for president, U.S. Senate and District 7 of the U.S. House of Representatives were all called early on due to the Republican candidates’ major leads in reported voting numbers.

Donald Trump was Williamson County’s preferred presidential candidate with nearly 86,500 votes in his name (62% of votes), while Democratic competitor Joe Biden brought in just over 50,000 (36%) county votes. This year, while still bringing in strong support for Trump, the county leaned slightly more blue than in 2016, when Trump brought in 65% of the county’s votes and Hillary Clinton won 30%.

Trump won the state with nearly 1.85 million votes (61%) to Biden’s 1.14 million (37%). Jo Jorgensen was the highest ranking independent candidate in the county with nearly 1,500 votes and in the state with almost 30,000 votes.

Bill Hagerty took the Senate race with over 91,000 county votes, about 48,000 votes ahead of Democratic challenger Marquita Bradshaw. The county’s 66% to 32% split placed more weight on Hagerty than the statewide breakdown, where Hagerty received 62% of votes to Bradshaw’s 35%.

Additionally, incumbent Congressman Mark Green led his race in Williamson County with almost 92,000 in-person votes, roughly 50,000 more than Democrat Kiran Sreepada, though Williamson County brought in the most votes for Sreepada of all the counties in the district. 

Incumbents hold down the fort in state House

A little closer to home, the three state House districts in Williamson County won’t face any leadership changes in the Tennessee legislature this time around.

In District 61, freshman legislator Brandon Ogles led his race for re-election with nearly 27,500 votes versus competitor Sam Bledsoe’s 14,000. Ogles, who was at a Republican election watch party at the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs Conference Center Tuesday night attended by Green, Sen. Marsha Blackburn and Gov. Bill Lee, said he’s grateful for his supporters and looks forward to serving alongside the same Williamson County colleagues in the Tennessee General Assembly.

District 63 saw a significant lead by incumbent Glen Casada with over 33,000 votes compared to challengers Elizabeth Madeira (18,000) and Brad Fiscus (almost 4,500). Casada said he “ran on (his) record” and is pleased with the district’s response.

“I’m humbled and honored to represent the district two more years in the General Assembly, and I just want to say thank you,” Casada said, adding that he will continue to focus on infrastructure and broadband among other issues this term.

Madeira said despite the loss she is grateful for the support she received from the district.

“Tonight’s results are obviously not the outcome we wanted,” she said. “I am blown away by the outpouring of support I got on this campaign. I’m proud of the work that we did on this campaign, and there’s plenty more ahead.”

Likewise, Fiscus said he was disappointed in the outcome but appreciative of the community’s support. He echoed his campaign slogan — “integrity matters” — saying he hoped the community will “keep an eye on” Casada over the next two years.

“I think what it calls for us now is that we have to continue to hold our elected officials accountable for their actions, just like the Republican Caucus held him accountable when he was Speaker,” he said.

Fiscus said he will continue his work as an elected member of the Williamson County Schools Board of Education and focus on supporting the schools as the county navigates the COVID-19 pandemic.

Incumbent state Rep. Sam Whitson also held down the fort in District 65, bringing in over 26,500 votes to Jennifer Foley’s 12,500. He, first of all, expressed appreciation for Foley’s “clean, respectful campaign.”

“That speaks a lot to her character, and it’s good that we can have elections and keep it above board,” he said. “Also, I appreciate the voters of the 65th district trusting me for another two years in the Tennessee General Assembly, and I will do my best over the next two years to represent them with honor and integrity and just help us get through this pandemic and get us back to normal.”

Of the three incumbents, Whitson received the most support proportionally, as he received 68% of his district’s votes. Ogles earned 66% of District 61’s votes, and Casada earned 60% in District 63.

Municipalities welcome new leadership 

In addition to national and state elections, Fairview and Thompson’s Station also had local elections to consider.

The Fairview City Commission will receive two new members, Lisa Anderson and Brandon Butler, who received 2,575 and 2,423 votes, respectively, and incumbents Scott Lucas (1,727) and Rod Dawson (2,097) will remain on the commission another term.

Derek Burks will no longer serve on the commission after trailing Lucas with 1,701 votes. Former commissioner Debby Rainey became the acting mayor of Fairview after the resignation of John Blade last month.

In Thompson’s Station, incumbent Alderman Brian Stover will serve another term on the town’s Board of Mayor and Aldermen after receiving 1,970 votes, while Andrew Zinn (1,887) will replace Ben Dilks, who did not run for re-election.

While there was no city election in Franklin, city voters did vote in favor (18-4) of an annexation referendum concerning several properties in southeast Franklin.

These voting results are unofficial and await certification by the Williamson County Election Commission. For more information, visit To view statewide results, go to

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.