> sign up for Herald e-news

Williamson County: From a field of five, Drolsum is appointed Judicial Commissioner

The Williamson County Commissioners’ vote to appoint attorney Larry Drolsum as Judicial Commissioner, or magistrate, is historic for several reasons.

“[First,] this is the first time that two judges have pitched two different people for appointment of a single Williamson County Judicial Commissioner,” said County Mayor Rogers Anderson. Secondly, he was among a field of five vying for the appointment. In the past only one nomination has been presented to the commission. Third, he literally came out of the blue and was nominated on the night of the vote.

The five candidates were Johnny Beard, Sandra Heithcock, Vicki Rose, Iris O’Brien and Drolsum.

Commissioner Brian Beathard, who nominated Drolsum at the meeting, said, “ I had nominated Larry Drolsum primarily based on his resume and years of law experience both as a public defender and a law teacher. There was already a field of candidates that had very impressive backgrounds and were qualified to do the job. When I learned of Mr. Drolsum's desire to be considered it made what would have been a difficult choice for me a little easier. I felt his background set him apart.”

When Commission Chairman Jack Walton asked each of the candidates to speak for three minutes about their experience, Drolsum said, “I have served in many different capacities in Williamson County – as assistant district attorney and as a public defender for 15 years. I know both sides of issues. I know the nuances of issuing warrants. I have experience as a master instructor at Trial College where I have taught for eight and a half years. I have spoken on the subject of search warrants and I believe this differentiates me from the field of candidates for this appointment. I have been a lawyer for 34 years. I am a Franklin High School and MTSU graduate and a Franklin resident.”

Candidates Sandra Heithcock, who was proposed for the appointment by Judge Al Nations, and Vicki Rose, proposed by Judge Denise Andre, both spoke. Two others proposed for the appointment were not present. They were Iris O’Brien and Johnny Beard.

When commissioners voted, each candidate’s name was voted on separately. Commissioners were instructed to vote yes, if they were in favor of the candidate and not to vote if they were not. The first successful candidate with 13 or more votes was to be nominated. Johnny Beard received two votes from Commissioners Judy Hayes and Cheryl Wilson. Candidates Heithcock and O’Brien did not receive any votes. Rose received votes from Commissioners Betsy Hester, Judy Herbert, Tom Bain, Greg Davis and Steve Smith.

The following county commissioners voted in favor of appointing Drolsum: Dwight Jones, Ricky Jones, John Hancock, Kathy Danner, Lewis Green Jr., Tommy Little, Jeff Ford, Mary Brockman, Ernie Williams, Bob Barnwell, Brian Beathard, Brandon Ryan and Doug Langston.


Posted on: 1/20/2011


WILLIAMSON HERALD :: 1117 Columbia Avenue :: P.O. Box 681359 :: Franklin, TN 37068
615.790.6465, phone :: 615.790.7551, fax ::

Copyright 2006, All rights reserved. ::
Privacy Policy ::
Advertise ::