You are the owner of this article.

WILLCO Awards honor the best in Williamson County Sports Conference

Independence football wins Team of the Year, Brentwood takes Director's Cup

  • 0
  • 2 min to read
2016 WILLCO Awards

The 2016 WILLCO Sports Awards honored the Williamson County Sports Conference best of the best Thursday, May 20, 2016. 

See PHOTOS for full gallery from the red-carpet event. 

Photo by Charles Pulliam @cspulliam

From the Franklin Theatre to The Factory, the Williamson County Sports Conference's top student-athletes and coaches took to the red carpet Thursday for the second annual WILLCO Awards.

The award show honors the top high school athletes, teams and coaches in the 22 TSSAA-sanctioned sports in the Williamson County Sports Conference.

Scott Blade was named the Coach of the Year as his Independence football team and players raked in some of the top honors. Barbara Campbell, who heads the Brentwood volleyball team, and Will Hester, who led the Ravenwood football team, were the other finalists.

The Eagles, who went 15-0 and won their first state title in December, were named the Team of the Year, edging out the Brentwood volleyball team and the Ravenwood football team, who also took home state titles this season.

Scott Blade

Independence standout Nate Johnson was also named the Male Athlete of the Year. Other finalists were Tyrel Dodson of Centennial, Chris Rowland of Ravenwood, Wil Dalton of Summit and Grayson Murphy of Independence.

Garrett Joiner of the Brentwood volleyball team earned Female Athlete of the Year. Her and the Lady Bruins captured their third consecutive Class AAA championship in October. Summit wrestling champion Jailah Grimes and Amber Tanner of Ravenwood were the other finalists for Female Athlete of the Year. 

In one of the more inspiring awards, Summit manager Noah McLaughlin was given the WCS Courage Award. McLaughlin was born without his lower right leg and without fingers but maintains a major role in Summit athletics.

Noah McLaughlin

The awards were presented by Vanderbilt Bone & Joint and Jackson National Life Insurance Company and emceed by Hope Hines. Longtime football coach Kippy Brown was the guest speaker. 

The full list of winners is included below:

2016 WILLCO Winners

Director’s Cup – Brentwood

Coach of the Year – Scott Blade, Independence

WCS Courage Award – Noah McLaughlin, Summit

Sportsmanship Award – Connor Barnett, Summit

Media Student of the Year – Jakob Serban, Franklin

Trainer of the Year – Eric Owns, Brentwood

Sponsor of the Year – John Maher Builders

Team of the Year – Independence Football

Male Athlete of the Year – Nate Johnson, Independence

Female Athlete of the Year – Garrett Joiner, Brentwood

Football Player of the Year – Tyrel Dodson, Centennial

Girls Cross Country – Addie Coggins, Independence

Boys Cross Country – Brody Hastey, Brentwood

Girls Volleyball – Garrett Joiner, Brentwood

Girls Golf – Ann Catherine Blackburn, Ravenwood

Boys Golf – Trevor Johnson, Brentwood

Cheer – Anne Tenkoff, Centennial

Girls Bowling – Maddy Sherwood, Franklin

Boys Bowling – Patrick Wolff, Brentwood

Girls Wrestling – Jailah Grimes, Summit

Boys Wrestling – Chris Rowland, Ravenwood

Girls Basketball – Kiera Downey, Ravenwood

Boys Basketball – Grayson Murphy, Independence

Girls Tennis – Alexa Peterson, Independence

Boys Tennis – Isaiah Polk, Page

Girls Track – Amber Tanner, Ravenwood

Boys Track – Carter Sorenson, Ravenwood

Girls Soccer – Julie Garst, Independence

Boys Soccer – Tevyn Henry, Centennial

Softball – Cailin Hannon, Centennial

Baseball – Wil Dalton, Summit

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.