Cross Country: Andrea of Fairview, four other Williamson County representatives named TSWA All-State

  • 0
  • 1 min to read

Five Williamson County runners were named to the All-State Cross Country teams released by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association this week. 

Freshman Alyssa Andrea of Fairview, junior Leigh Walters of Page and senior Kylie Wittman of Brentwood Academy all were honored on the girls' side, while sophomore Trace Alexander of Battle Ground Academy and junior Cayden Durrough of Brentwood Academy were recognized on the boys' side. 

Andrea won the Small Class cross country championships in early November and was the only WillCo representative in a field of 170 runners. She was the first Fairview girls cross country champion since 2001.

Walters, who closed in third overall in 2018's Large Class championships, out-kicked last year’s champion Jenna Hutchins of Science Hill, who took a tumble in the final strides, to finish second. Walters shaved more than 34 seconds off her 2018 time. 

Wittman finished third in the Division II-AA race. 

Alexander finished fourth overall in the DII-A boys' race, while Durrough placed third in the DII-AA race. 

Tennessee Sports Writers Association 2019 All-State Cross Country Teams 


Small Class

Alyssa Andrea, Fairview, Fr.

Emma Bradford, Sequatchie County, Sr.

Lily Stinnett, Gatlinburg-Pittman, So.

Jaedyn Stalnecker, Forrest, Fr.

Lexie LaDuc, Cannon County, Fr.

Large Class

Sasha Neglia, Dobyns-Bennett, Sr.

Leigh Walters, Page, Jr.

Jenna Hutchins, Science Hill, So.

Landri Wilcox, Cookeville, Jr.

Andie-Marie Jones, Maryville, So.

Division II-A

Allison Newman, St. George's, Jr.

Lauren Rutlin, St. George's, Fr.

Abbie Baker, First Assmbly Christian, Jr.

Sarah McDonald, St. George's, Sr.

Annabelle Cothran, Columbia Academy, So.

Division II-AA

Callie Tucker, Knox Catholic, Sr.

Be Guillamondegui, Harpeth Hall, Fr.

Kylie Wittman, Brentwood Academy, Sr.

Helen Webb, Baylor School, Fr.

Phoene Moran, Chattanooga Christian, Jr.


Small Class

Seth Jinks, L&N Stem Academy, Sr.

T.J. Martin, Alcoa, Sr.

B.J. Frankum, Union City, Jr.

Nick Daniel, University School-Johnson City, So.

Austin Wingfield, Signal Mountain, Sr.

Large Class

Silas Winders, Henry County, Sr.

Evan Allen, Chester County, Sr.

Miles Ally, Martin Luther King, Jr.

Jackson Williams, Arlington, Sr.

Aiden Britt, Lebanon, Jr.

Division II-A

Timothy Hays, University School of Nashville, Sr.

Pelham Bergesen, University School of Nashville, Sr.

Andrew Cox, Franklin Road Academy, Sr.

Trace Alexander, So., Battle Ground Academy, So.

Ethan Rhoden, Franklin Road Academy, Sr.

Division II-AA

Edimo Ninterestse, Chattanooga Christian, Sr.

John Arrowsmith, McCallie School, Sr.

Cayden Durrough, Brentwood Academy, Jr.

Dylan Zeller, McCallie School, Sr.

Colin Knapp, Father Ryan, So.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.