You have permission to edit this article.
High School Football

Football: Fairview racks up All-Region awards

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 1 min to read

Despite forfeiting the Region 6-3A football championship for the first time since joining the league in 2015, Fairview High School football players were scattered throughout the All-Region awards as compiled by the region coaches.

Senior Logan Nardozzi was named the league’s Most Valuable Offensive Player, while position awards went to Yellow Jackets Morgan Jean, Riley Bennett, Jack Baker, Bryce Fannin, Matt Stevens and Brody Cox.

Nardozzi rushed for 742 yards on 92 carries with 12 touchdowns this season for Fairview, while Bennett took over under center for the first time and passed for just over 1,000 yards with 13 TDs to just two interceptions. He also rushed for two more scores and another 328 yards.

Bryce Fannin was named the top defensive back in the region after collecting 41 tackles and three interceptions. He hauled in five touchdown passes from Bennett alongside other top target Morgan Jean (22 catches for 352 yards and 4 TDs), who was the top wide receiver in the league.

Do-all senior Brody cox was named the Most Valuable Special Teams Player, while Matt Stevens earned the top kicker nod.

The full list of awards and all-region recognitions as well as all-academic team honors is included below.

2020 All-Region 6-3A Awards

Player of the Year – Will Page, Stewart County

Most Valuable Offensive Player – Logan Nardozzi, Fairview

Most Valuable Defensive Player – Matthew Pack, Harpeth

Most Valuable Athlete – Connor Andrews, Stewart County

Offensive Position MVP Awards

Linemen – Austin Clark, Stewart County; Jack Baker, Fairview; Running Back – Hunter Knott, Stewart County; Tight End – Trenton Moore, Camden; Wide Receiver – Morgan Jean, Fairview; Quarterback – Riley Bennett, Fairview

Defensive Position MVP Awards

Defensive Back – Bryce Fanin, Fairview; Linebacker – Caleb Mulcahy, Stewart County; Defensive Lineman – Aaron McWright, Harpeth

Special Teams MVP Awards

Kicker – Matt Stevens, Fairview; Punter – Ayden Mansfield, Camden; Return Specialist – Davion Primm, Harpeth; Player – Brody Cox, Fairview

Coach of the Year – Chanz Swartz, Stewart County

Assistant Coach of the Year – Jimbo Riner, Stewart County

2020 All-Region 6-3A Team

Fairview – Brian Kuhn, Witt Chivers, Cole Warden, Jacob Clevenger, Kyle King; Stewart County – Desmond Williamson, Jonah Reid, Dylon Marsh, Cole Swartz, Mario Gonzalez, Coltin Stanfield; Harpeth – Thomas Sloan, Max Johnson, Lionel Marquardt, Jaden Petty; Camden – Karson Goodwin, Sam Behzed, Kade Lopez, Jonathan Stockdale; Sycamore – Rayvon Greene, Logan Garrett, Eli Pallares; Cheatham County – Justin Loftis, Michael York, Liam Haynes.

2020 All-Academic Team

Fairview – Riley Bennett, Morgan Jean, Witt Chivers, Jonathan Patterson, Marco Pukl, Brian Kuhn, Ethan Stewart, Luke Pape, Jack Baker, Logan Nardozzi, Jacob Clevenger, Maverick Cutulle, Brody Cox, Logan Parsons, Delan Grant; Stewart County – Connor Andrews, James Barfield, Joshua Gaston, Peyton Howard, Caleb Mulcahy, Will Page, Jonah Reid; Harpeth – Dakota Delong, Mason Holley, Andrew Gailey, Aden Cook, Aaron McWright; Camden – Cory Painter, Trenton Moore, Ayden Mansfield, Hunter Vargas; Sycamore – Faris Al-ipyden, Ariel Rojas-Avila; Cheatham County – Gabe Young, Cooper Owen, Liam Hayes, Nick Forsythe.

2020 All-Region Managers

Harpeth – Kaitlyn Gibbs, Beonna Huffines, McKenna Bellar; Sycamore – Connor Bunch.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.