Football: Nolensville's Coutras, BGA's Semptimphelter named Mr. Football Finalists

Ravenwood's Akers, Brentwood Academy's Perry in the running for Kicker of the Year

  • 0
  • 2 min to read

Nolensville senior Tim Coutras in Class 4A and Battle Ground Academy senior Nick Semptimphelter are among the finalists for the Mr. Football Awards. Williamson County also has a pair of representatives – Luke Akers of Ravenwood and Paxton Perry of Brentwood Academy – in the running for the Kicker of the Year award. 

The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top football players in nine classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, Dec. 2 at Nissan Stadium in Nashville. For the 18th consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award, regardless of classification.

Five semifinalists in each classification were announced on Nov. 7. There are six classifications in Division I and three in Division II. The three finalists for each category were announced by Mike Keith on the Titans website at at 11 a.m. The three finalists for each award that were announced Tuesday will be the ones invited to attend the awards luncheon at Nissan Stadium, where the winner of each award will be announced.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2019 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

"We are very appreciative of the Tennessee Titans for their continued support of these awards,” stated Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “Having the awards presented at Nissan Stadium will provide a very special atmosphere for these outstanding student-athletes.”

This is the 35th year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the other two finalists in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate.

More than 400 people, including the 30 finalists, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2019 luncheon.

Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentation. A live videostream of the awards will be provided at

2019 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Finalists


Hunter Ensley, Huntingdon

Ronto Tipton, South Pittsburg

Holden Willis, Greenback


Cooper Baugus, Peabody

Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Terry Wilkins, Fairley


Grey Carroll, Alcoa

Donoven McCallister, Upperman

James Moore, Stratford


Tim Coutras, Nolensville

Will McDonald, Livingston Academy

Ty Youngblood, Greeneville


Spencer Briggs, Gallatin

Ja’sean Parks, Beech

Elijah Young, South-Doyle


Bryson Eason, Whitehaven

Conner Murphy, Blackman

Lincoln Pare, Houston


Kevin Davis, Trinity Christian

Kemari McGowan, MTCS

Rube Scott Rhea, Fayette Academy


Austin Hill, ECS

Dietrick Pennington, ECS

Nick Semptimphelter, Battle Ground Academy


Elijah Howard, Baylor

Jabari Small, Briarcrest

Omari Thomas, Briarcrest


Luke Akers, Ravenwood

Paxton Perry, Brentwood Academy

Zeke Rankin, Alcoa

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.