Franklin's Walker leads TSWA Hall of Fame list, first female writer honored

  • 0
  • 1 min to read
Teresa Walker

Franklin resident Teresa Walker of the Associated Press has been named to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association Hall of Fame. She is the first female sports writer named to the group.

Franklin resident Teresa Walker of the Associated Press has been named to the Tennessee Sports Writers Hall of Fame, the first female writer ever honored.

She is joined in the 2020 class by veteran Tommy Bryan of Lebanon and Chattanooga’s Mark Wiedmer.

A native of Homestead, Fla., and a graduate of the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, in 1987 she went to work as a news reporter for The Daily Times in Maryville. She covered one high school football game and wrote one sports column and a feature on Hoosier racing tires while mostly covering education, courts and the police beat.

Hired by the Associated Press in Nashville in December 1989, Walker wrote college football and basketball games from around Tennessee by phone for the first two years. She became Tennessee sports editor in June 1992 and has covered five Olympics, three Super Bowls, a handful of Southeastern Conference men’s and women’s basketball tournaments, several NCAA Tournaments and regional finals and the 2014 Women’s Final Four in Nashville.

She covered the relocation of the NFL’s Houston Oilers between 1995 and 1997, taking over as beat writer upon the team’s arrival in Nashville in July 1997. Walker became one of the AP’s Pro Football Writers helping cover the NFL in 2014 and is the first president of the Pro Football Writers Association’s Nashville chapter.

Walker has also covered the NHL’s Nashville Predators, including the 2017 Stanley Cup Final; Vanderbilt football, men’s and women’s basketball and baseball; the NBA’s Memphis Grizzlies and the Memphis Tigers.

She also is a past president of the TSWA and is a two-time Tennessee Sportswriter of the Year and won an APSE for feature writing in 2015 for a story from the Masters.

Walker becomes the first female sports writer selected for the TSWA Hall of Fame and only the third female elected by the association. The other two, June Stewart and Debby Jennings, are both from the Sports Information field.

The three will be officially inducted at the organization’s annual meeting on July 9, 2020 at Cumberland University.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.