You have permission to edit this article.
High School Football

Wade brothers named Mr. Football Finalists; BA's Laster up for Kicker of the Year

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 1 min to read
Wade twins (copy)

Summit seniors Destin and Keaten Wade were both named Class 6A Tennessee Titans Mr. Football finalists. 

NASHVILLE – For the first time in Williamson County high school football history, two brothers were named Mr. Football finalists at the same time.

Summit High School senior standouts Destin and Keaten Wade join Oakland’s Jordan James as the finalists for the Class 6A Tennessee Titans Mr. Football. Titans coach Mike Vrabel and Voice of the Titans Mike Keith announced the finalists Tuesday night.

Destin Wade was a finalist in 2020 as well.

A statewide panel of sports writers and media members selected the Mr. Football semifinalists, announced earlier this month. Selections were based on regular-season performances as well as academics and character.

The winners will be unveiled Tuesday, Dec. 7 at Nissan Stadium.

Another county player honored includes Brentwood Academy’s George Laster, who is one of three finalists up for Kicker of the Year.

Teagen Lenderink was tabbed the Kicker of the Year last season for the Eagles – the first WillCo winner of the award since Ravenwood’s Crews Holt in 2015.

2021 Tennessee Titan Mr. Football Finalists

Class 6A

Jordan James, Oakland; Destin Wade, Summit; Keaten Wade, Summit

Class 5A

De’Sean Bishop, Karns; Jamarion’s Brooks, Memphis Central; Walter Nolensville III, Powell

Class 4A

Barion Brown, Pearl Cohn; Mason Grudger, Greeneville; Kaydin Pope, Hardin County

Class 3A

Caden Buckles, Alcoa; Jacob Dooley, Waverly; Keaton Harig, Loudon

Class 2A

Cameron Huckabey, Meigs County; Cameron Miller, MAHS; Ty Simpson, Waverly

Class 1A

Khalik Ganaway, Peabody; De’Andre Kelly, South Pittsburg; Marquez Taylor, McKenzie

Division II-AAA

Dallan Hayden, Christian Brothers; Kenny Minchey, Pope John Paul II; William Riddle, McCallie

Division II-AA

Langston Patterson, CPA; Alex Broome, Lipscomb Academy; Luther Richesson, Lipscomb Academy

Division II-A

Bradford Gaines, DCA; Steele Haynes, USJ; Joshua Strickland, Jr., Nashville Christian

Kicker of the Year

Upton Bellenfant, Stewarts Creek; Justus Chadwick, Tullahoma; George Laster, Brentwood Academy

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.